St.George Queensland Reds confirm 2020 squad

· Super Rugby
by Reds Media Unit

The Queensland Rugby Union (QRU) has today confirmed the St.George Queensland Reds playing squad for the 2020 Super Rugby season.

In total, 31 players of the current 34-man squad have been retained from last season as Queensland continues to identify and develop elite Rugby talent at Ballymore.

Of the current squad, 90% have come through the Queensland pathway having represented Queensland at either Schoolboys, U19s or U20s level, playing Queensland Premier Rugby or with either Bond University Queensland Country or Brisbane City in the National Rugby Championship (NRC).

Twelve players have re-signed for the 2020 season, including Taniela Tupou, Angus Blyth, Tate McDermott, Fraser McReight and Harry Wilson who have all signed four-year contract extensions through 2023, while Harry Hoopert, Alex Mafi and Hamish Stewart have re-committed for a further three years.

With the addition of Jordan Petaia who signed a four-year deal in 2018, a total of nine players have inked long-term deals to remain in Queensland to provide continuity and stability to QRU’s strategy to develop elite homegrown talent in Queensland.

Liam Wright, Angus Scott-Young, Bryce Hegarty, Brandon Paenga-Amosa and Feao Fotuaika have also re-signed with the Reds through 2021, while Chris Feauai-Sautia will remain at Ballymore through next season.

The Reds welcome three new players in 2020 with Australian backline stars James O’Connor and Henry Speight set to link up with their new Queensland team-mates later this year, while imposing Fijian backrower Seru Uru has been signed through 2021 following his standout form in Queensland Premier Rugby with Easts.

Last season’s Developing Squad players Sean Farrell, Carter Gordon, Tom Kibble, Josh Nasser and Michael Wood have all been promoted into the Reds Wider Training Squad, while exciting utility back Isaac Lucas is now a part of Queensland’s contracted playing squad.

There’s set to be further announcements ahead of the 2020 Super Rugby season, including a handful of Queensland Pathway products who will be handed Developing Squad contracts following the 2019 NRC season with Brisbane City and Queensland Country.

Reds head coach Brad Thorn said: “It’s great to keep a consistent squad heading into the 2020 season.

“90% of our players have come through the system here in Queensland which goes to show what we’re trying to do here.

“Nine of the lads have signed long-term deals to remain at Queensland and there’s more to come. This is a great sign for the future of Queensland Rugby. It’s important we continue to develop this elite talent coming through.

“We saw signs of improvement last season. We did some really good things, but ultimately, we were disappointed not to be playing finals footy.

“The majority of this group have been together now for close to four years. The longer we can keep these same men together at Queensland, the sooner we’ll see success here. As a group, we’re excited for the challenge ahead in 2020,” said Thorn.

Thorn will once again lead a world-class coaching roster at Queensland alongside assistants Jim McKay (attack) and Peter Ryan (defence).

As part of the QRU’s strategy to identify and develop emerging Rugby talent in Queensland, the Reds senior coaching staff will work closely with the newly appointed Reds Academy head coach Rod Seib along with Paul Carozza as Head of Talent Management.

St.George Queensland Reds 2020 Squad


Angus Blyth 21 Bond University

Sean Farrell 21 Souths

Feao Fotuaika 26 Souths

Harry Hockings 21 University of Queensland

Harry Hoopert 20 Brothers

Tom Kibble 19 GPS

Alex Mafi 22 Bond University

Fraser McReight 20

Josh Nasser 20 University of Queensland

Brandon Paenga-Amosa 23 Sunnybank

Izack Rodda 23 Easts

Lukhan Salakaia-Loto 22 Souths

Angus Scott-Young 22 University of Queensland

JP Smith 29 GPS

Ruan Smith 29 GPS

Taniela Tupou 23 Brothers

Seru Uru 22 Easts

Harry Wilson 19 Brothers

Michael Wood 20 Brothers

Liam Wright 21 Easts Queensland


Jock Campbell 24 University of Queensland

Filipo Daugunu 24 Wests

Chris Feauai-Sautia 25 Souths

Carter Gordon 18 Wests

Jack Hardy 20 Easts

Bryce Hegarty 26 GPS

Isaac Lucas 20 Sunnybank

Scott Malolua 26 Souths

Tate McDermott 21 University of Queensland

James O’Connor 29 Brothers

Jordan Petaia 19 Wests

Moses Sorovi 23 Wests

Henry Speight 31 TBC

Hamish Stewart 21 Bond University

2020 St.George Queensland Reds Team Staff 

Head coach: Brad Thorn

Assistant coach: Jim McKay

Assistant coach: Peter Ryan

Physiotherapist/scrum coach: Cameron Lillicrap

Strength and Conditioning head coach: Brynley Abad

General Manager – Professional Rugby: Sam Cordingley

Team Manager: Thomas Barker

Team Doctor: Daelyn Cullen

Team Nutritionist: Sally Anderson

Team Analyst: Michael Todd

Sport Science Coordinator: Georgia Black

Media Manager: Tom Mitchell