Queensland U16s squads named for 2019 Junior Rugby Championship

· Schoolboys
by Reds Media Unit

The Queensland Rugby Union have today announced their two U16 squads – Maroon and White – ahead of the 2019 Junior Rugby Championships (JRC) taking place in Canberra from Sunday 29th to Saturday 5th October 2019. 

The Queensland U16s program has produced many future St.George Queensland Reds and Wallaby players, with recent program graduates including Carter Gordon, who is currently part of the Reds squad and representing Bond University Queensland Country in the NRC having play for the Queensland U16s in 2017.

The JRC draw is included below with games played at the Australian Institute of Sport.

Queensland U16s Maroon 


Joshua  Mongard - Brisbane State High School
Charlie Wigan - Toowoomba Grammar School
Max Craig - Anglican Church Grammar School
Oahu Davey-Phillips - St Joseph's Nudgee College
Harrison Swane - St Joseph's Nudgee College
Tom Zuidam - Anglican Church Grammar School
Daniel Maiava-Tapusoa - St Joseph's Nudgee College
Max Johnson - Padua College
Ewen Marr - Anglican Church Grammar School
Nick Baker - Marist College Ashgrove
George Stoddart - Anglican Church Grammar School
Xavier Stowers - Ipswich Grammar School Zac Hough - Brisbane Boys College John Bryant - St Laurences College


Sam Farrar - Anglican Church Grammar School
Willem Johnstone - St Joseph's Nudgee College
Mason Gordon - Brisbane Boys College
Taj Annan - Brisbane Boys College
Jojo Fifita - The Southport School
Malique Douthat-Sjoberg - Ipswich Grammar School
Robert Mapa - St Joseph's Nudgee College
David Vaihu - St Joseph's College Gregory Terrace
Floyd Aubrey - Marist College Ashgrove
Harry Walters - St Joseph's College Gregory Terrace


David Miles - Head Coach
Michael Lucas - Assistant Coach
Luke Oxford - Assistant Coach
Krystal Kirkman – Manager

Queensland U16s White 


Lachlan Bishop - St Joseph's College Gregory Terrace Jack Booker - St Patrick's College Noah Hartley - Marist College Emerald Cooper McGeary - The Southport School
Leighton Whippy - Padua College
Saxon Warick - Iona College
Hunter Dalzell - The Southport School
Dante Fruean - Ipswich Grammar School
Zachariah Tia - Forest Lake State High School 
Luke Kofutua - Ipswich Grammar School
Oliver Harvey - St Joseph's Nudgee College
Michael Jones - St Joseph's Nudgee College
Samson Sauaso - Ipswich State High School
Willem Pienaar - Downlands College


Braydon O'Sullivan - Ipswich Grammar School
Jackson Dows - St Patrick's College
Isaiah Armstrong-Ravula - Ipswich State High School
Jed Bignell - Ipswich Grammar School
Clancy McPherson - Toowoomba Grammar School
Larzlo Sword - Anglican Church Grammar School
Noah Fielding - A.B.Paterson College
Damien Vukovic - Brisbane State High School
Alex Miles - Somerset College
Wayne Meredith - Smithfield State High School
Jack Densen - The Southport School


Mick Tunny - Head Coach
Rob Riori - Assistant Coach
Jono Farrell - Assistant Coach
Louise Moevao - Manager

Junior Rugby Championship draw


NSW I              



Match day 1 – Sunday 29 September

Time, Match, Location, Match # 
10:30 NSW II v BAR AIS Game 1 
12:30 QLD MAROON v VIC AIS Game 2 
14:30 NSW I v ACT AIS Game 3 
16:30 QLD WHITE v WA AIS Game 4 

Match day 2 – Tuesday 1 October

Time, Match, Location, Match # 
10:30 WA v NSW I AIS Game 5 
12:30 QLD MAROON v BAR AIS Game 6 
14:30 QLD WHITE v ACT AIS Game 7 
16:30 VIC v NSW II AIS Game 8 

Match day 3 – Thursday 3 October 

Time, Match, Location, Match # 
10:30 ACT v WA AIS Game 9 
12:30 BAR v VIC AIS Game 10 
14:30 NSW II v QLD MAROON AIS Game 11 
16:30 NSW I v QLD WHITE AIS Game 12

Match day 4 – Saturday 5 October 

Time, Match, Location, Match # 
9:30 Pool A 4th v Pool B 4th AIS Game 13 
9:30 Pool A 3rd v Pool B 3rd AIS Game 14 
11:00 Pool A 2nd v Pool B 2nd AIS Game 15 
12:30 Pool A 1st v Pool B 1st AIS Game 16