Brisbane City claim back-to-back URC titles with 43-19 win over Sydney

· U19 Rugby Championship
by Reds Media Unit

Brisbane City have claimed back-to-back URC titles after defeating Sydney 43-19 in the 2019 U19s National Rugby Championship Final at the Australian Institute of Sport in Canberra. 

Having never lost a match in the tournament’s two-year history, the reigning champions ran in six-tries-to-three to continue their impressive winning streak and assert Queensland as the strongest Rugby pathway in the country.

Sydney came out firing and were rewarded for their early attacking raid on Brisbane City’s line when Harry Wilson burrowed his way over for an early 7-nil lead.

The Queenslanders responded five minutes later through Emmitt Keepa who scored off a nicely-worked rolling maul following City’s first trip inside Sydney’s 22 to level the scores at 7-all. 

Sunnybank scrumhalf Isaac Crone kicked Brisbane City three-points clear with a 30-metre penalty, before Keepa crashed over a double to hand Brisbane a 17-7 lead at the break.

The reigning champions picked-up where they left off with their third five-pointer three minutes into the second half to extend City’s margin to 17. 

Replacement winger Matt Weir caught Sydney napping when he scooted over from a quick tap for Brisbane’s fourth of the afternoon. Crone was unable to continue his perfect record with the boot, as City took a 29-7 lead in the 48th minute.

Weir soon has his second after taking an intercept and sprinting 80 metres to score under the posts, before Nicholas Hughes finished off a lovely Samuel Samu break down the left flank to stretch City’s advantage out to 43-7. Sydney salvaged two late consolation tries, but the damage was already done as Brisbane City cruised to a convincing 24-point victory in the nation’s capital. 

Brisbane City 43 

Tries: Keepa 2, Weir 2, Nofoagatotoa, Hughes.
Cons: Crone 3, Samu 2.
Pens: Crone

Sydney 19

Tries: Wilson 2, Dombkins.
Cons: Edmed 2