Isaac Lucas and Angus Scott-Young recognised at BDO Rugby Players Lunch

· Super Rugby
by Reds Media Unit

Rising St.George Queensland Reds stars Isaac Lucas and Angus Scott-Young have been honoured at the BDO Rugby Players Lunch in Sydney today.

Lucas was recognised as the Newcomer of the Year, following a breakout season in which he featured eight times for Queensland in Super Rugby and led Brisbane City to their first semi-finals appearance since 2015 in the National Rugby Championship (NRC).

The 20-year-old playmaker also helped the Junior Wallabies to a runner-up finish at the Junior Rugby World Championships in Argentina, before capping his year with a four-year contract extension to remain at Ballymore through 2023. 

Versatile backrower Scott-Young received the Academic Achievement Award, with the 22-year-old completing a dual degree in Commerce and Science at the University of Queensland earlier this year.

Scott-Young was awarded the Dean’s Commendation for Academic Excellence by UQ in 2019, while also balancing his professional Rugby career.

68-cap former Queensland representative Stephen Moore was inducted into The Rugby Union Players' Association (RUPA) Centurion’s Club alongside recent Reds recruit Henry Speight, as Brumbies prop Allan Alaalatoa was awarded the RUPA Medal for Excellence after a standout Super Rugby campaign.

BDO Rugby Players Lunch Award Winners

RUPA Medal For Excellence: Allan Alaalatoa (Brumbies)
Newcomer of the Year: Isaac Lucas (Queensland Reds)
Community Service Award: Lachlan McCaffrey (Brumbies)
Academic Achievement Award: Angus Scott-Young (Queensland Reds)
Taylors Wines’ People’s Choice Australian Player of the Year: Grace Hamilton (Buildcorp Wallaroos)
NRC Players’ Player of the Year Award: Andrew Deegan (Western Force/Melbourne Rebels)
Australian Men’s Rugby Sevens Players’ Player of the Year: Maurice Longbottom
Australian Women’s Rugby Sevens Players’ Player of the Year: Ellia Green