St.George Queensland Reds announce squad for Waratahs pre-season match in Dalby

· Super Rugby
by Reds Media Unit

The St.George Queensland Reds have announced a 26-man squad for their second pre-season fixture against the New South Wales Waratahs in Dalby tomorrow night.

23 of the 26 players named will back-up from last week’s 57-5 win over the Rebels in Gladstone, as the Reds ramp-up their preparations for next Friday’s Super Rugby opener against the Brumbies.

Henry Speight will start on the wing in his first outing for Queensland, while Jordan Petaia is set to line-up alongside James O’Connor in an exciting centre-pairing combination.

After playing in all eight matches for Brisbane City in last year’s National Rugby Championship (NRC), University of Queensland backrower Sam Wallis has been selected in tomorrow’s uncapped fixture after being invited to train with the Reds during the pre-season.

Reds head coach Brad Thorn said: “It’s great we can take another pre-season match to country Queensland. As a group, we’re looking forward to connecting with the Dalby community.

“The Waratahs will provide a good contest for us as we focus on our season opener against the Brumbies next week,” said Thorn.

It’ll be the first time in more than a decade Queensland has played New South Wales in a pre-season fixture in regional Queensland after last hosting the Waratahs in 2009 at Gold Park in Toowoomba. 

Queensland Rugby Union (QRU) would like to thank Western Downs Regional Council and GrainCorp for supporting Queensland Rugby and for making tomorrow’s pre-season fixture in Dalby possible.

The Reds play the Waratahs at Dalby Leagues Club tomorrow night at 7:30pm AEST and will be live-streamed via
CLICK HERE for tickets to the Dalby pre-season match 

St.George Queensland Reds v New South Waratahs – Dalby Leagues Club, Dalby on 24 January at 7:30pm AEST

1. Dane Zander
2. Alex Mafi
3. Taniela Tupou
4. Angus Blyth
5. Tuaina Taii Tualima
6. Angus Scott-Young
7. Liam Wright © 
8. Harry Wilson
9. Tate McDermott
10. Isaac Lucas
11. Henry Speight
12. James O’Connor
13. Jordan Petaia
14. Jock Campbell
15. Bryce Hegarty

16. Brandon Paenga-Amosa
17. Dave Feao
18. Josh Nasser
19. Ryan Smith
20. Seru Uru
21. Moses Sorovi
22. Hamish Stewart
23. Ilaisa Droasese
24. Chris Feauai-Sautia
25. Sam Wallis
26. Hunter Paisami