Brisbane Grey claim inaugural Emerging Reds Cup; Queensland U15 Merit Side named

Fri, 24/09/2021, 02:00 am
Reds Media Unit
by Reds Media Unit

Brisbane Grey have been crowned the inaugural Emerging Reds Cup (ERC) champions after three days of competition at Bulimba Riverside Junior Rugby Union Club.

The Grey side went undefeated against Brisbane White, the SEQ Barbarians and the Central Queensland Regional Barbarians over three games.

A Queensland U15 Merit team was announced at the conclusion of the tournament, with the side unable to play their New South Wales counterparts due to the COVID-19 outbreak south of the border.

Queensland Reds Head of Talent Management Paul Carozza said: “What a great few days of Rugby at Riverside Junior Rugby Club.

“We saw some great play from all four teams and it’s going to be really exciting to see these boys continue on the Queensland Rugby pathway.

“Picking a representative team is never easy and there are always quality players who miss out.

“Although those selected in the merit side won’t get to play as a team this year, we’re looking forward to seeing them progress through our pathway in the future.”

Queensland U15 Merit Team

1. Simon Chong - Nee (Brisbane Grey)

2. Ewald Kruger (SEQ Barbarians)

3. Alex Schumacher (Brisbane Grey)

4. Eamon Mahoney (Brisbane White)

5. Maxwell North (SEQ Barbarians)

6. Brock Powell ( Brisbane White)

7. Logan Connolly (SEQ Barbarians)

8. David Leota (Brisbane Grey)

9. Nathan Fraser (Brisbane White)

10. Tauave Leofa (Brisbane Grey)

11. Jackson Hill (Brisbane Grey)

12. Lama Afu (SEQ Barbarians)

13. Prestyn Laine - Sietu (Brisbane White)

14. Amaziah Murgha (CQ Barbarians)

15. Jacob Johnson (Brisbane Grey)

16. William Pamenter (Brisbane Grey)

17. Patrick Meni (Brisbane White)

18. Kody Perry (CQ Barbarians)

19. Finn Mackintosh (Brisbane Grey)

20. Princeton Ioane (Brisbane Grey)

21. Sam Watson (Brisbane Grey)

22. Tom Howard (Brisbane Grey)

23. Natani Lesimaikimatuku (Brisbane White)

Queensland Reds Rugby

The QLD Reds are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Rugby Australia. All rights reserved. Part of the Rugby Network