Queensland U16s and U19s teams announced for National Championships Grand Final

Fri, Nov 11, 2022, 12:30 AM
Reds Media Unit
by Reds Media Unit

The Queensland Reds U16s and U19s teams have been confirmed ahead of this Sunday’s National Championships Grand Finals in Sydney.

Both teams will take on the New South Wales Waratahs at Pittwater Rugby Park, with the U16s kicking off at 11:05am and the U19s at 1:30pm.

Openside flanker Nick Baker will captain the U19s side, with playmaking duo Harry McLaughlin-Phillips and Taj Annan providing strike power at flyhalf and inside-centre respectively.

The U19s have dropped just won game in the four-match competition, losing in Round 1 to their New South Wales, who powered home after trailing 19-3 at the half-time break.

Strong victories over the ACT Brumbies, Western Force and Melbourne Rebels followed, with the side conceding just 20-points and scoring 117 in the three matches.

Their form sets up a rematch with the Tahs, who are yet to lose in the revamped competition.

The Queensland U16s also dropped their opening fixture against the New South Welshman, falling 32-3 at Sunnybank.

The side, chosen from the Buildcorp Emerging Reds Cup, bounced back with a 34-16 win over the Brumbies, before a narrow 17-15 defeat to the Western Force in Perth the next round.

The Reds responded with a strong showing against the Rebels, claiming a 45-14 victory to seal a Grand Final berth.

Lock Tom Robinson will captain the side, with versatile playmaker Chace Oates and frontrower Emil Willie-Jawai two players to watch.

The National Championships Grand Finals will be streamed LIVE on Stan Sport.

Queensland U16s v New South Wales Waratahs U16s | Pittwater Rugby Park | Kick-off 11:05am
  1. Blaze Moana | The Southport School
  2. Ewald Kruger | Toowoomba Grammar School
  3. Emil Willie-Jawai | Anglican Church Grammar School
  4. Will Pascoe | Brisbane Grammar School
  5. Avery Thomson | Brisbane Boys College
  6. Tom Robinson (c) | St Joseph’s College Gregory Terrace
  7. Joseph Stoddart | Anglican Church Grammar School
  8. Jasper Barry | Marist College Ashgrove
  9. Samuel Watson | St Joseph’s Nudgee College
  10. Chace Oates | Toowoomba Grammar School
  11. James Duggan | St Joseph’s Nudgee College
  12. Ryan Heaton | St Joseph’s Nudgee College
  13. Prestyn Laine-Sietu | St Joseph’s Nudgee College
  14. Tom Howard | Marist College Ashgrove
  15. Blake Miller | Sunshine Coast Grammar School
  16. Harry Solofa | Anglican Church Grammar School
  17. Lochlan Smith | Somerset College
  18. Princeton Ioane | St Joseph’s Nudgee College
  19. John Grenfell | St Joseph’s Nudgee College
  20. Billy Wellard | The Southport School
  21. Tom Goldie | The Southport School
  22. Charlie O’Connell | St Joseph’s Nudgee College
  23. Zac Nichol | Sunshine Coast Grammar School

Queensland U19s v New South Wales Waratahs U19s | Pittwater Rugby Park | Kick-off 1:30pm
  1. Harrison Usher | Bond University
  2. Max Craig | Easts
  3. Nick Bloomfield | Easts
  4. Lachlan Shaw | University of Queensland
  5. Dylan Loader | Bond University
  6. George Stoddart | Easts
  7. Nick Baker (c) | GPS
  8. John Bryant | Souths
  9. Willem Johnstone | Souths
  10. Harry Mclaughlin-Phillips | Souths
  11. Jarrod Homan | Easts
  12. Taj Annan | Easts
  13. Tim Ryan | Brothers
  14. Jackson Connelly | Norths
  15. Matt Brice | Noosa Dolphins
  16. Noah Hartley | University of Queensland
  17. Jack Booker | University of Queensland
  18. Angus Ward | University of Queensland
  19. Tanna Wilson | Brothers
  20. Stuart Taii Tualima | GPS
  21. Sam Farrar | Easts
  22. Alex Miles | Bond University
  23. Harry Grant | Brothers