Three Reds closer to test debut after being named in Wallabies' squad for first two Bledisloe cup matches

· International
by Reds Media Unit

St.George Queensland Reds youngsters Adam Korczyk, Izaia Perese and Izack Rodda are a step closer to making their Test debuts, after being named in the Wallabies’ squad for the first two Bledisloe Cup matches.

The trio of potential debutants are joined in the squad by Queensland teammates Kane Douglas, Samu Kerevi, Stephen Moore and Rob Simmons.

Reds Karmichael Hunt (ankle), Eto Nabuli (knee), James Slipper (Achilles) and Lukhan Tui (knee) were not considered for selection due to injury.

Qantas Wallabies coach Michael Cheika has named a 34-man squad ahead of the opening Bledisloe Cup clash against New Zealand at New Zealand at ANZ Stadium on August 19 – with the Wallabies’ today announcing experienced duo Will Genia and Bernard Foley as vice-captains, to support incoming skipper Michael Hooper.

The Wallabies squad features seven uncapped players in total.

The squad will assemble in Cessnock, New South Wales this Sunday.

Tickets for the Qantas Wallabies' three home Test matches in the 2017 Rugby Championship are available now through Ticketek.

All Bledisloe Cup matches will be screened LIVE in High Definition and ad-break free during play on FOX SPORTS and will be available to stream via Foxtel Go (for Foxtel subscribers).

The three Bledisloe Cup Tests will also be screened LIVE in High Definition on TEN and WIN Network and on

All domestic Wallabies Tests will be broadcast LIVE on Radio.

Qantas Wallabies 34-man squad for the opening Bledisloe Cup clash, Sydney, August 19


Allan Alaalatoa, 12 Tests, Brumbies

Rory Arnold, 12 Tests, Brumbies

Adam Coleman, 12 Tests, Western Force

Jack Dempsey, 1 Test, NSW Waratahs

Kane Douglas, 31 Tests, Queensland Reds

Tetera Faulkner, 2 Tests, Western Force

Ned Hanigan, 3 Tests, NSW Waratahs

Michael Hooper (c), 68 Tests, NSW Waratahs

Sekope Kepu, 80 Tests, NSW Waratahs

Adam Korczyk*, Queensland Reds

Sean McMahon, 15 Tests, Melbourne Rebels

Stephen Moore, 120 Tests, Queensland Reds

Tatafu Polota-Nau, 71 Tests, Western Force

Tom Robertson, 9 Tests, NSW Waratahs

Izack Rodda*, Queensland Reds

Rob Simmons, 71 Tests, Queensland Reds

Scott Sio, 32 Tests, Brumbies

Lopeti Timani, 7 Tests, Melbourne Rebels

Jordan Uelese*, Melbourne Rebels


Kurtley Beale, 60 Tests, NSW Waratahs

Israel Folau, 55 Tests, NSW Waratahs

Bernard Foley (vc), 45 Tests, NSW Waratahs

Will Genia (vc), 78 Tests

Dane Haylett-Petty, 17 Tests, Western Force

Reece Hodge, 13 Tests, Melbourne Rebels

Samu Kerevi, 8 Tests, Queensland Reds

Marika Koroibete*, Melbourne Rebels

Tevita Kuridrani, 47 Tests, Brumbies

Billy Meakes*, Western Force

Izaia Perese*, Queensland Reds

Nick Phipps, 52 Tests, NSW Waratahs

Joe Powell, 2 Tests, Brumbies

Curtis Rona*, Western Force

Henry Speight, 12 Tests, Brumbies

*denotes uncapped player