St.George Queensland Reds announce Round 6 team against Waratahs

· Super Rugby - AU
by Reds Media Unit

The St.George Queensland Reds have made one change to their starting XV for Saturday’s Vodafone Super Rugby AU fixture against the Waratahs in Sydney.

Following his impressive return from injury last round, Jordan Petaia will start on the wing with Chris Feauai-Sautia sidelined with a calf injury.  

There are three changes to the bench with Queensland pathway product Zane Nonggorr potentially set to make his Super Rugby AU debut this weekend. 

An Australian and Queensland U18s/Schoolboys representative, the 19-year-old tighthead prop captained the 1st XV at The Southport School last year and has been a part of the Reds Academy for the past two years. 

After debuting against New South Wales in Round 1 last month, lock Tuaina Taii Tualima is back in the 23 this week in place of Ryan Smith.

While Brothers flyer Josh Flook also re-joins the team as a finisher with Petaia in the starting side. 

Reds head coach Brad Thorn said: “It’s a great rivalry this – Queensland and New South Wales. There’s plenty of history between the two teams. They’re always a tough opponent and we’re looking forward to the contest. 

“Our defence, physicality and the effort from the guys has been great, but we’ve got a lot to improve on moving forward. 

“It’s good to have Jordy fit and firing again. For a first hit-out he reminded us how special a player he is with a few special moments in the game that only Jordy can do.

“Zane Nonggorr is an outstanding young man. He’s come through the system here in Queensland and has been working hard in our program. As a group, we congratulate him on his selection this week,” said Thorn.

The Reds will look to retain the Bob Templeton Cup following their drought-breaking victory over New South Wales in Round 1 of Super Rugby AU last month.

Queensland play the Waratahs at the SCG in Sydney on Saturday night at 7:15pm AEST and will be broadcast live on Fox Sports and Kayo.

The Reds return home next week as they host the Rebels at Suncorp Stadium on Saturday 15 August. Tickets are available now – CLICK HERE

St.George Queensland Reds v Waratahs – SCG, Sydney on 8 August at 7:15pm AEST

1. Dane Zander – Norths 
2. Brandon Paenga-Amosa – Sunnybank 
3. Taniela Tupou – Brothers 
4. Angus Blyth – Bond University 
5. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto – Souths 
6. Angus Scott-Young – University of Queensland
7. Liam Wright – Easts © 
8. Harry Wilson – Brothers 
9. Scott Malolua – GPS 
10. James O’Connor – Brothers 
11. Filipo Daugunu – Wests
12. Hamish Stewart – Brothers 
13. Hunter Paisami – Wests 
14. Jordan Petaia – Wests 
15. Jock Campbell – University of Queensland

16. Alex Mafi – Bond University 
17. Jack Straker – GPS 
18. Zane Nonggorr* – Bond University 
19. Tuaina Taii Tualima - GPS
20. Fraser McReight – Brothers 
21. Tate McDermott – University of Queensland
22. Bryce Hegarty – GPS
23. Josh Flook – Brothers 

*Denotes potential Super Rugby AU and Queensland debut