St.George Queensland Reds announce Round 8 team against Force

· Super Rugby - AU
by Reds Media Unit

The St.George Queensland Reds have made one change to their starting XV for tomorrow’s Vodafone Super Rugby AU clash against the Force on the Gold Coast.

Brothers flyer Josh Flook will make his starting debut at outside centre following a knee injury to Hunter Paisami who is expected to be sidelined for the next two weeks.

Flook’s inclusion in the XV sees Jack Hardy recalled into the 23 in one-of-four changes to the bench.  

Loosehead prop Harry Hoopert has overcome a knee injury and is back in the side with Josh Nasser named as Queensland’s replacement hooker. 

While scrumhalf Moses Sorovi has been selected for the first time during Queensland's Super Rugby AU campaign and is set to come-on as a finisher tomorrow night. 

Reds head coach Brad Thorn said: “We’re excited to head down the coast and play in front of our Queensland fans tomorrow night. 

“The Force will be hungry. They’re a dangerous team with plenty of experience. It’ll be a tough contest and we’re looking forward to the challenge ahead. 

“Josh Flook will make his first start for Queensland which is a great achievement. He’s got a few caps now and will only get better with more experience. 

“Moses has been working hard in our program and deserves his spot in the side. It’s great to have Hoops back as well. It’s a timely boost in the loosehead department having him there as a finisher this week,” said Thorn.

After a 31-24 victory in Round 3 last month, the Reds will be aiming for back-to-back wins against the Force that would see them take temporary top-spot on the ladder.

Queensland play the Western Force at Cbus Super Stadium on the Gold Coast on Friday night at 7:05pm AEST and will be broadcast live on Fox Sports and Kayo.

The Reds have the bye next week before hosting the Brumbies at Suncorp Stadium in the final round of the regular season on Saturday 5 September. 

St.George Queensland Reds v Force – Cbus Super Stadium, Robina on 21 August at 7:05pm AEST

1. Jack Straker – GPS
2. Brandon Paenga-Amosa – Sunnybank 
3. Taniela Tupou – Brothers 
4. Angus Blyth – Bond University 
5. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto – Souths 
6. Liam Wright – Easts © 
7. Fraser McReight – Brothers 
8. Harry Wilson – Brothers 
9. Tate McDermott – University of Queensland
10. James O’Connor – Brothers 
11. Filipo Daugunu – Wests
12. Hamish Stewart – Brothers 
13. Josh Flook – Brothers 
14. Jordan Petaia – Wests 
15. Jock Campbell – University of Queensland

16. Josh Nasser – University of Queensland 
17. Harry Hoopert – Brothers 
18. Zane Nonggorr – Bond University 
19. Tuaina Taii Tualima – GPS
20. Angus Scott-Young – University of Queensland
21. Moses Sorovi – Wests
22. Bryce Hegarty – GPS
23. Jack Hardy – Easts