St.George Queensland Reds announce Grand Final team against Brumbies

· Super Rugby - AU
by Reds Media Unit

The St.George Queensland Reds have made two changes to their starting XV for Saturday’s Vodafone Super Rugby AU Grand Final against the Brumbies in Canberra. 

After being cleared of concussion, Jordan Petaia will shift to the right wing with Chris Feauai-Sautia ruled-out with a groin injury.

It sees Hunter Paisami start in the number 13 jersey and re-join his centre-pairing partner Hamish Stewart. 

In the forwards, JP Smith will start at loosehead prop as Harry Hoopert drops to the bench as a finisher this weekend.

There are a further two changes to the reserves with Ruan Smith back in the 23 as Queensland’s replacement tighthead prop, while utility back Jack Hardy comes into the team following the elevation of Paisami into the XV. 

Reds head coach Brad Thorn said: “Grand Final week – this is what it’s all about. 

“We’re embracing the challenge ahead against a worthy opponent, whom we respect.  

“Our journey to get here started back in November with our Reds to Regions trip across Queensland. We travelled around the world. We worked hard in two pre-seasons. We’ve battled through a global pandemic. Many of our guys in this group have come through our pathway and club rugby – they’ve thrived and have grown as men during this year.  

“We’ve reconnected with our state. They believe in us and we want to make them proud this weekend, plus achieve something together as a group,” said Thorn. 

Queensland play the Brumbies in Canberra on Saturday night at 7:20pm AEST and will be broadcast live on Fox Sports and Kayo.

Vodafone Super Rugby AU Grand Final: St.George Queensland Reds v Brumbies – GIO Stadium, Canberra on 19 September at 7:20pm AEST

1. JP Smith – GPS 
2. Brandon Paenga-Amosa – Sunnybank 
3. Taniela Tupou – Brothers 
4. Angus Blyth – Bond University 
5. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto – Souths 
6. Liam Wright – Easts © 
7. Fraser McReight – Brothers 
8. Harry Wilson – Brothers 
9. Tate McDermott – University of Queensland
10. James O’Connor – Brothers 
11. Filipo Daugunu – Wests
12. Hamish Stewart – Brothers 
13. Hunter Paisami – Wests  
14. Jordan Petaia – Wests   
15. Jock Campbell – University of Queensland

16. Josh Nasser – University of Queensland
17. Harry Hoopert – Brothers 
18. Ruan Smith – GPS 
19. Tuaina Taii Tualima – GPS
20. Angus Scott-Young – University of Queensland
21. Moses Sorovi – Wests
22. Bryce Hegarty – GPS
23. Jack Hardy – Easts