QRU elects Des Connor a Life Member - Roger Gould and Garrick Morgan re-elected as President and Vice President at AGM

by Reds Media Unit

The Queensland Rugby Union (QRU) has confirmed the re-election of its President and Vice President, as well as the election of Des Connor as an Honorary Life Member at today's Annual General Meeting held at St Joseph's College, Gregory Terrace in Brisbane. 

One of the finest halfbacks to play for Australia, Des Connor made an immense contribution to Australian and Queensland Rugby as a player, coach and selector.

Tipped to become an international while still at school at Marist College Ashgrove, Connor debuted for Queensland in 1954 (Queensland Representative No. 655) and became a regular in the side until 1959 – playing 23 games in the maroon and captaining his state on seven occasions. 

Connor first represented Australia in 1958 on the Wallabies Tour of Britain and France and would go on to earn a total of 24 international caps for both Australia and New Zealand.

Connor played for Australia against the British Lions in 1959, before moving to New Zealand to accept a job at Auckland’s Takapuna Grammar School.

He then played for the All Blacks from 1961 to 1965, earning the unique honour of captaining both the Wallabies and All Blacks.

On his return to Australia in 1967, Connor coached his old Brisbane club Brothers to a premiership before being appointed Australian coach in 1968 for a total of 14 Tests. 

In order to combat the dominant New Zealand forward, Connor innovated the short line-out – a tactic that is now commonplace and still employed in Rugby today. 

Connor was inducted into the Australia Rugby Union Hall of Fame in 2008 and was later one-of-the-11 foundation inductees into the Queensland Rugby Union Hall of Fame in 2013.
Des’s nomination to the QRU for consideration for Honorary Life Membership was received by Brothers President David Hine and seconded by Souths President Anthony Shepley, as well as Norths President Kieran Prideaux.

Meanwhile, Roger Gould was re-elected as QRU President, with Garrick Morgan re-elected as Vice President.