St.George Queensland Reds announce Round 6 team against Waratahs

Wed, Mar 24, 2021, 5:00 AM
Reds Media Unit
by Reds Media Unit

The St.George Queensland Reds have made four changes to their starting XV for Saturday’s away match against the Waratahs in Sydney. 

Ryan Smith will make his starting debut at lock, while the versatile Seru Uru will start at number-eight following an impressive 2021 season so far.

Filipo Daugunu returns to the left wing this week, with Brandon Paenga-Amosa back in the starting side at hooker for Saturday’s match at Stadium Australia. 

Paenga-Amosa’s inclusion means Alex Mafi will come off the bench in one-of-four further changes to the Reds’ reserves. 

Fresh after claiming the Australian Club Championship with Easts last weekend, Richie Asiata returns to the 23 as a replacement loosehead prop. 

Backrower Sam Wallis also finds himself in the 23 again and could potentially make his Super Rugby debut, while Uru’s promotion to the starting side sees Harry Wilson as a finisher this weekend.

Reds head coach Brad Thorn said: “We’re looking forward to a tough contest against the Waratahs down in Sydney. 

“After a big pre-season, Seru has been in some really good form and has earned his opportunity to get a start this week.

“This will be Ryan Smith’s first start in Super Rugby. It’s good pay for his constant hard work in our program and his development. 

“You’ve also got Sam Wallis and Kalani Thomas on the bench who could make their Super Rugby debuts which is exciting. 

“While at the other end, Angus Scott-Young will play his 50th game for Queensland. He’s a leader on-and-off the field and as a group, we congratulate him on this achievement,” said Thorn. 

Queensland play the Waratahs on Saturday night at 6:45pm AEST and will be broadcast live on 9Gem and simulcast live and ad-free on Stan Sport.

The Reds are on the road again next week travelling to Melbourne against the Rebels, before returning home in Round 8 to host the Brumbies at Suncorp Stadium in their final home match of the Harvey Norman Super Rugby AU regular season – CLICK HERE for tickets. 

St.George Queensland Reds v New Soutth Wales Waratahs – Stadium Australia, Sydney on 27 March at 6:45pm AEST

1. Dane Zander – Norths 
2. Brandon Paenga-Amosa – Sunnybank  
3. Taniela Tupou – Brothers 
4. Ryan Smith* – Brothers 
5. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto – Souths 
6. Angus Scott-Young – University of Queensland
7. Fraser McReight – Brothers 
8. Seru Uru – Easts  
9. Tate McDermott – University of Queensland
10. James O’Connor – Brothers © 
11. Filipo Daugunu – Wests  
12. Hunter Paisami – Wests 
13. Jordan Petaia – Wests
14. Suliasi Vunivalu – Wests
15. Jock Campbell – University of Queensland

16. Alex Mafi – Bond University 
17. Richie Asiata – Easts   
18. Zane Nonggorr – Bond University 
19. Harry Wilson – Brothers  
20. Sam Wallis** – University of Queensland 
21. Kalani Thomas** – University of Queensland 
22. Hamish Stewart – Brothers  
23. Bryce Hegarty - GPS 

*denotes Super Rugby/Queensland starting debut
**denotes potential Super Rugby/Queensland debut