St.George Queensland Reds announce Grand Final team against Brumbies

Wed, 05/05/2021, 07:00 am
Reds Media Unit
by Reds Media Unit

The St.George Queensland Reds have made three changes to their starting XV for Saturday’s Harvey Norman Super Rugby AU Grand Final against the Brumbies at Suncorp Stadium. 

Queensland’s backline will be bolstered by the return of Jock Campbell who will start on the left wing, while Josh Flook will wear the number-13 jersey following a facial fracture to Hunter Paisami suffered in their Round 10 match against the Force.

In the forward pack, Ryan Smith has earned the opportunity to start at lock seeing the in-form Angus Scott-Young shift back to his preferred position at blindside flanker.

There are four changes to the Reds’ reserves, with backrower Liam Wright and Fijian flyer Filipo Daugunu set to bring plenty of firepower as finishers this weekend.  

Loosehead prop Dane Zander has been re-called into the 23, while Wests playmaker Isaac Henry could potentially make his Super Rugby debut off the bench. 

Reds head coach Brad Thorn said: “Grand Final week – how good. This is why you play the game. 

“We’re looking forward to a big game of rugby in front of a packed Suncorp Stadium. We’ve got a strong connection with our supporters – right across the state with our Reds to Regions visits and out to the local clubs. Our supporters are a big part of the reason why we’re there on Saturday night.

“The Brumbies are a tough opponent. They’re the defending premiers. They’ve been the competition benchmark now for a number of years. We’re expecting another a tough contest against them,” said Thorn. 

The Reds will be aiming for a record-equalling 11th straight win at Suncorp Stadium set back in 2010/2011, to remain unbeaten at home during the history of the Super Rugby AU competition. 

Queensland play the Brumbies on Saturday night at 7:55pm AEST and will be broadcast live on 9Gem and simulcast live and ad-free on Stan Sport. 

Tickets for Saturday’s decider are still available – CLICK HERE to secure your seat.

Harvey Norman Super Rugby AU Grand Final: St.George Queensland Reds v Brumbies – Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane on 8 May at 7:55pm AEST

1. Feao Fotuaika – Sunnybank 
2. Brandon Paenga-Amosa – Sunnybank  
3. Taniela Tupou – Brothers 
4. Ryan Smith – Brothers 
5. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto – Souths 
6. Angus Scott-Young – University of Queensland 
7. Fraser McReight – Brothers 
8. Harry Wilson – Brothers   
9. Tate McDermott – University of Queensland
10. James O’Connor – Brothers © 
11. Jock Campbell – University of Queensland  
12. Hamish Stewart – Brothers  
13. Josh Flook – Brothers 
14. Jordan Petaia – Wests 
15. Bryce Hegarty – GPS 

16. Alex Mafi – Bond University 
17. Dane Zander – Norths    
18. Zane Nonggorr – Bond University 
19. Seru Uru – Easts  
20. Liam Wright – Easts  
21. Kalani Thomas – University of Queensland 
22. Isaac Henry* – Wests  
23. Filipo Daugunu – Wests 

*Denotes potential Super Rugby/Queensland debut
Queensland Reds Rugby

The QLD Reds are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Rugby Australia. All rights reserved. Part of the Rugby Network