St.George Queensland Reds announce Round 5 team against Hurricanes

Wed, 09/06/2021, 12:00 am
Reds Media Unit
by Reds Media Unit

The St.George Queensland Reds have made three changes to their starting XV for Friday’s Harvey Norman Super Rugby Trans-Tasman fixture against the Hurricanes in Wellington. 

Bryce Hegarty has overcome a minor hamstring concern that sidelined him last week and will start at flyhalf with James O’Connor still battling a neck injury. 

Josh Flook comes into the starting side on the right wing replacing Suliasi Vunivalu who suffered a hamstring injury midway through the second-half of last week’s match against the Blues.

Angus Blyth will start in the number-four jersey which sees Ryan Smith set to come-on as a finisher in one-of-six changes to the Reds’ reserves. 

In their final game of the 2021 season, Queensland could blood their ninth debutant this year with Brothers utility back Hudson Creighton named on the bench.

Fraser McReight has been recalled into the 23, so too hooker Richie Asiata and loosehead prop Harry Hoopert, as well as replacement scrumhalf Kalani Thomas for Friday’s fixture in Wellington.

Reds head coach Brad Thorn said: “We’re looking forward to getting back over to Wellington – we haven’t been there since 2018. 

“The Hurricanes are playing for a finals spot and we’re expecting a tough battle against them. 

“We want to finish the season well and put in a good performance for our Queensland fans back home,” said Thorn.

Queensland play the Hurricanes on Friday night at 5:05pm AEST and will be broadcast live and ad-free on Stan Sport. 

St.George Queensland Reds v Hurricanes – Sky Stadium, Wellington on 11 June at 5:05pm AEST

1. Feao Fotuaika – Sunnybank 
2. Brandon Paenga-Amosa – Sunnybank  
3. Taniela Tupou – Brothers 
4. Angus Blyth – Bond University  
5. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto – Souths   
6. Angus Scott-Young – University of Queensland  
7. Liam Wright – Easts (c)
8. Harry Wilson – Brothers     
9. Tate McDermott – University of Queensland 
10. Bryce Hegarty – GPS 
11. Filipo Daugunu – Wests   
12. Isaac Henry – Wests    
13. Hunter Paisami – Wests    
14. Josh Flook – Brothers 
15. Mac Grealy – University of Queensland 

16. Richie Asiata – Easts  
17. Harry Hoopert – Brothers  
18. Zane Nonggorr – Bond University 
19. Ryan Smith – Brothers      
20. Fraser McReight – Brothers    
21. Kalani Thomas – University of Queensland    
22. Hudson Creighton* – Brothers       
23. Moses Sorovi – Wests

*Denotes potential Super Rugby and Queensland debut         
Queensland Reds Rugby

The QLD Reds are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Rugby Australia. All rights reserved. Part of the Rugby Network