Log in

St.George Queensland Reds side named for clash with President’s XV

Tue, 29/06/2021, 2:48 am
Reds Media Unit
by Reds Media Unit

St.George Queensland Reds head coach Rama Chand has today confirmed his match-day-23 for the side’s Round 3 Buildcorp Super W clash against the President’s XV in Coffs Harbour on Wednesday, 29.

Six changes have been made to the starting XV that ran out against the Melbourne Rebels on Sunday, with a number of players returning to the fold from the reserves or other representative duties.
In the front-row, Wests duo Tiarna Molloy and Bree-Anna Cheatham will return to the starting line-up alongside Christina Sekona, while April Ngatupuna will start at Number 8 after scoring the match winning try against the Rebels.
In the backs, young-gun scrumhalf Destiny Brill returns to the side for the first time in 2021, after starting for Queensland in their State of Origin win on Friday night on the Sunshine Coast, seeing her former Marsden State High School teacher Cobie-Jane Morgan shift to flyhalf.
Bond University product Diaz Seumanutafa will form a new centre combination with her Bond teammate Melanie Wilks, while Emily Bass has returned to the squad on the wing after taking part in the Oceania Sevens in Townsville.
In the reserves, former Wallaroos captain Liz Patu will make her return from injury, adding further experience to the squad for their must win clash.
“This match is crucial for us,” said Chand.
“After a loss against NSW and a narrow win over the Rebels, we need to ensure we put in a solid performance against the President’s XV to secure our best possible position on the competition ladder.
“We’ve named arguably our strongest team for tomorrow’s clash, we have a great mix of young talent who have been performing, as well as some experienced heads in the starting side as well as the reserves.
“It’s great to welcome back Destiny (Brill) and Emily (Bass) from other representative duties, they’ll add plenty of fire power to our backline, while Liz Patu’s return is timely as she brings a wealth of experience and knowledge to the line-up. She’s worked hard to overcome an injury to get back for this match and she’ll be hungry for an opportunity.
“There are a few Queensland players in the President’s XV side that we know very well, and we have a hard task ahead of us after they put away the Brumbies on Sunday.”  
The St.George Queensland Reds clash against the President’s XV kicks off tomorrow afternoon at 1:00pm at C.EX Coffs International Stadium and will be broadcast LIVE and ad free on Stan Sport.

St.George Queensland Reds side to face President’s XV:

1. Bree-Anna Cheatham – Wests
2. Tiarna Molloy – Wests
3. Christina Sekona – Sunnybank
4. Aleena Greenhalgh – Bond University
5. Annabelle Codey – Easts
6. Carola Kreis – Bond University
7. Lucy Lockhart (vc) – Bond University
8. April Ngatupuna – Easts
9. Destiny Brill – Easts
10. Cobie-Jane Morgan (c) – Easts
11. Ivania Wong – Sunnybank
12. Diaz Seumanutafa – Bond University
13. Melanie Wilks – Bond University
14. Emily Bass – Bond University
15. Kauna Lopa – Sunnybank

16. Liz Patu – Wests
17. Maletina Brown – Easts
18. Hilisha Samoa – GPS
19. Lesa Kaleti Mataafa – Sunnybank
20. Madi Shuck – Bond University
21. Asako Ono – Easts
22. Cecilia Smith – Easts
23. Natalie Wright – University of Queensland