Log in

Reds confirm team for Crusaders clash in Christchurch

Wed, 25/05/2022, 6:58 am
Reds Media Unit
by Reds Media Unit

Queensland co-captain Liam Wright will make his return from injury via the bench against the Crusaders in Christchurch this Friday night.

The backrower, who injured his ankle in Round 7, is one of five changes to the Queensland side after last round’s 34-22 win over Moana Pasifika at Suncorp Stadium.

Lawson Creighton comes into the run-on team at flyhalf following James O’Connor’s hamstring injury, with Jordan Petaia shifting infield to outside-centre to accommodate Josh Flook’s injury.

Filipo Daugunu starts on the wing, while Seru Uru will feature at lock, seeing Angus Scott-Young start at blindside flanker.

Dane Zander also returns to the starting frontrow as Queensland look to break an 11-year, eight-game drought against the Crusaders.

Reds head coach Brad Thorn said: “We’re looking forward to getting back over to New Zealand this week.

“The Crusaders are a tough opponent and they’ll be looking forward to playing in front of their home crowd. Once again they’re at the top-end of the competition and this is an important game for both teams,” said Thorn.

Jock Campbell starts at fullback alongside Daugunu and Suliasi Vunivalu on the wings, with Petaia running-on in the number-13 jersey for the first time this season.

Hamish Stewart will start at inside-centre, as co-captain Tate McDermott and Lawson Creighton again combine in the halves.

Scott-Young returns to the starting side in the backrow alongside Fraser McReight and Harry Wilson, while Uru will partner Ryan Smith in a dynamic secondrow.

In the frontrow, Zander starts alongside Matt Faessler and Feao Fotuaika.

Wright makes his return as a finisher to co-captain the side, with Angus Blyth, Connor Vest and Mac Grealy set to add punch from the bench.

The fixture will be broadcast live and exclusively via Stan Sport on Friday night at 5:35pm.

Crusaders v Queensland Reds, Orangetheory Stadium, Christchurch, kick-off 5:35pm AEST:

  1. Dane Zander – Norths
  2. Matt Faessler – Brothers
  3. Feao Fotuaika – Sunnybank
  4. Seru Uru – Wests
  5. Ryan Smith – Brothers
  6. Angus Scott-Young – University of Queensland
  7. Fraser McReight- Brothers
  8. Harry Wilson – Brothers
  9. Tate McDermott (cc) – University of Queensland
  10. Lawson Creighton – Brothers
  11. Filipo Daugunu – Wests
  12. Hamish Stewart – Brothers
  13. Jordan Petaia – Wests
  14. Suliasi Vunivalu – Wests
  15. Jock Campbell – University of Queensland
  16. Richie Asiata – Easts
  17. Harry Hoopert – Brothers
  18. Sef Fa’agase – University of Queensland
  19. Angus Blyth – Bond University
  20. Connor Vest – University of Queensland
  21. Liam Wright (cc) – Easts
  22. Kalani Thomas – University of Queensland
  23. Mac Grealy – University of Queensland