Log in

Wright to start, Paisami returns for quarterfinal clash in Christchurch

Wed, 01/06/2022, 6:58 am
Reds Media Unit
by Reds Media Unit

Co-captain Liam Wright will return to the Queensland Reds’ starting XV for this Friday night’s Super Rugby Pacific quarterfinal against the Crusaders in Christchurch.

After making a successful comeback from an ankle injury last week, Wright will co-captain the side from openside flanker, while destructive centre Hunter Paisami has overcome a shoulder injury and will feature off the bench.

Wright is one of four changes to the starting side, with Harry Hoopert and Angus Blyth returning to the run-on in team and Seru Uru shifting to the backrow to take on the Crusaders for the second-straight week.

Head coach Brad Thorn said: “It’s great to be here together in Christchurch for the week.

“We get the chance to bond as a team and get a feel for the conditions we’ll play in this Friday night. 

“It’s unique to play the Crusaders back-to-back at their home. We’ll embrace the challenge ahead come Friday night.”

Hoopert will start in the frontrow alongside Feao Fotuaika and Matt Faessler who has recovered from a head knock suffered last Friday night.

Blyth and Ryan Smith will resume their combination as locks, with Uru, Wright and Harry Wilson set to combine in the backrow for the first time this season.

Tate McDermott will skipper an unchanged backline, pairing with Lawson Creighton in the halves.

Hamish Stewart and Jordan Petaia start in the midfield, with Filipo Daugunu, Jock Campbell and Suliasi Vunivalu providing strike from the back three.

Fraser McReight and Paisami will bring star power from the bench as Queensland look to snap their nine-game, 23-year hoodoo in Christchurch.

The match will be broadcast live and exclusively via Stan Sport.

Crusaders v Queensland Reds, Super Rugby Pacific Quarterfinal, Orangetheory Stadium, Christchurch, kick-off 5:05pm AEST:

  1. Harry Hoopert – Brothers
  2. Matt Faessler – Brothers
  3. Feao Fotuaika – Sunnybank
  4. Ryan Smith – Brothers
  5. Angus Blyth – Bond University
  6. Seru Uru – Wests
  7. Liam Wright (cc) – Easts
  8. Harry Wilson – Brothers
  9. Tate McDermott (cc) – University of Queensland
  10. Lawson Creighton – Brothers
  11. Filipo Daugunu – Wests
  12. Hamish Stewart – Brothers
  13. Jordan Petaia – Wests
  14. Suliasi Vunivalu – Wests
  15. Jock Campbell – University of Queensland
  16. Richie Asiata – Easts
  17. Dane Zander – Norths
  18. Sef Fa’agase – University of Queensland
  19. Connor Vest – University of Queensland
  20. Angus Scott-Young – University of Queensland
  21. Fraser McReight – Brothers
  22. Kalani Thomas – University of Queensland
  23. Hunter Paisami - Wests