St.George Queensland Reds announce Round 3 team against Jaguares in Buenos Aires

· Super Rugby
by Reds Media Unit

The St.George Queensland Reds have made five changes to their starting XV for Sunday morning’s match against the Jaguares in Buenos Aires. 

Jordan Petaia has been ruled-out after suffering a shoulder injury during Wednesday’s training session and will be further assessed in Brisbane. 

Following two strong performances off the bench, Hunter Paisami will start at outside centre in Petaia’s absence.

Chris Feauai-Sautia will play his first game of 2020 after being named on the wing, as University of Queensland flyer Jock Campbell moves to fullback. 

Angus Blyth has earned his second start at lock this season seeing Lukhan Salakaia-Loto shift to the backrow.

There are three further changes to the reserves, with Angus Scott-Young and Bryce Hegarty set to come-on as finishers this weekend in Argentina.

While Harry Hockings is set play his first game this year after recovering from a broken hand that required surgery during the pre-season. 

Reds head coach Brad Thorn said: “We’re gutted for Jordan. He’ll return home with the squad and will be looked at for further diagnosis. It’s personally frustrating for him and also for us as a group on the field. 

“We’ve got a tough opposition again in the Jaguares. They’re last year’s finalists and a slick outfit so they’ll be a tough opponent.

“We want to take the learnings from last week and the week before. We’ve had two tight games and we’re looking to finish this tour with something to bring back with us,” said Thorn.

Queensland play the Jaguares on Sunday morning at 9:00am AEST and will be broadcast live on Fox Sports. 

The Reds return home next week to host their first match at Suncorp Stadium in 2020 when they play the Sunwolves on Saturday 22 February - CLICK HERE for tickets.

St.George Queensland Reds v Jaguares – Estadio Jose Amalfitani, Buenos Aires on 16 February at 9:00am AEST

1. JP Smith – GPS 
2. Alex Mafi – Bond University 
3. Taniela Tupou – Brothers 
4. Izack Rodda – Easts
5. Angus Blyth – Bond University 
6. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto - Souths
7. Liam Wright © – Easts 
8. Harry Wilson – Brothers 
9. Tate McDermott – University of Queensland
10. James O’Connor – Brothers 
11. Henry Speight – Bond University 
12. Hamish Stewart – Brothers 
13. Hunter Paisami – Wests 
14. Chris Feauai-Sautia – Souths 
15. Jock Campbell – University of Queensland

16. Sean Farrell* – Souths
17. Dane Zander – Norths 
18. Josh Nasser – University of Queensland
19. Harry Hockings – University of Queensland
20. Angus Scott-Young – University of Queensland
21. Moses Sorovi – Wests 
22. Isaac Lucas - Sunnybank
23. Bryce Hegarty – GPS 

*denotes potential Super Rugby and Queensland debut