St.George Queensland Reds announce Round 5 team against Force

· Super Rugby - AU
by Reds Media Unit

Following last week’s thrilling win over the Brumbies in Canberra, the St.George Queensland Reds have made just the one change to their starting XV for Saturday’s home match against the Force at Suncorp Stadium.

Electric outside back Ilaisa Droasese will make his Super Rugby starting debut on the wing, with fellow Fijian flyer Filipo Daugunu unavailable due to personal reasons. 

Reds Academy product and Ipswich Grammar schoolboy sensation Kalani Thomas could make his Super Rugby debut via the bench in one-of-two changes to the Reds’ reserves, as Hamish Stewart returns to the matchday 23 as a finisher this weekend. 

Queensland will look to keep their unbeaten start to the season in-tact, as they aim for a ninth straight win at Suncorp Stadium on Saturday.

Reds head coach Brad Thorn said: “It’s good to be back at home this week. 

“Suncorp Stadium – it’s called the cauldron for a reason. Queenslanders are some of the most passionate fans and we’re looking forward to seeing a big crowd there on Saturday night. 

“The Force are a quality team who we respect. They have plenty of experience and will make the trip across from Perth looking for a result. We’re expecting a tough match against a good opposition. 

“Well done to Kalani on being selected. There could be an opportunity for him on Saturday night. He’s come through the pathway here – an Ipswich Grammar and Reds Academy product. He’s still only 18 and has been working hard within our program,” said Thorn.

Queensland play the Force on Saturday night at 6:45pm AEST and will be broadcast live on 9Gem and simulcast live and ad-free on Stan Sport.

The Reds are on the road for the next fortnight travelling to Sydney and Melbourne against the Waratahs and Rebels respectively, before returning home in Round 8 to host the Brumbies at Suncorp Stadium in their final home match of the Harvey Norman Super Rugby AU regular season – CLICK HERE for tickets. 

St.George Queensland Reds v Western Force – Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane on 20 March at 6:45pm AEST

1. Dane Zander – Norths 
2. Alex Mafi – Bond University 
3. Taniela Tupou – Brothers 
4. Angus Blyth – Bond University 
5. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto – Souths 
6. Angus Scott-Young – University of Queensland
7. Fraser McReight – Brothers 
8. Harry Wilson – Brothers 
9. Tate McDermott – University of Queensland
10. James O’Connor – Brothers © 
11. Ilaisa Droasese* – Wests  
12. Hunter Paisami – Wests 
13. Jordan Petaia – Wests
14. Suliasi Vunivalu – Wests
15. Jock Campbell – University of Queensland

16. Brandon Paenga-Amosa – Sunnybank 
17. Harry Hoopert – Brothers  
18. Zane Nonggorr – Bond University 
19. Ryan Smith – Brothers 
20. Seru Uru – Easts
21. Kalani Thomas** – University of Queensland 
22. Hamish Stewart – Brothers  
23. Bryce Hegarty - GPS 

*denotes Super Rugby/Queensland starting debut
**denotes potential Super Rugby/Queensland debut