Log in

2022 Super Rugby Pacific draw announced

Mon, 15/11/2021, 1:59 am
Reds Media Unit
by Reds Media Unit

Suncorp Stadium will play host to seven Queensland Reds home games in 2022 after the inaugural Super Rugby Pacific draw was confirmed today.

Queensland kick their season off with a blockbuster Trans-Tasman clash against the Chiefs in Brisbane on Saturday 19 February, with the Reds the only Australian side to beat the Waikato-based team in last year’s Super Rugby Trans-Tasman competition.

The Reds then head south for the first ever ‘Super Round’ and will take on the Crusaders at Melbourne’s AAMI Park during a three-day, six-game Rugby feast.

Round 4 sees Queensland back at home to host the Brumbies in a Super Rugby AU Grand Final rematch on Saturday 12 March, the first match between the great rivals since the Reds’ dramatic victory in the domestic decider this year.

A clash against the newly minted Moana Pasifika side at Suncorp Stadium follows before Queensland hosts their historical rivals the New South Wales Waratahs on Saturday 2 April.

Round 8 sees the Reds take on the Highlanders at home with the side’s next home game in Round 12 against the Rebels on Friday 6 May.

Queensland take on the competition’s second new side, the Fijian Drua, to finish their regular season campaign on Saturday 28 May at Suncorp Stadium.

Each team will play a total of 14 matches during the regular season, 11 round-robin fixtures plus the introduction of three additional rivalry matches which will see each team play a home and away series against three other teams.

The top eight at the end of the regular season will then compete in a Finals Series which will kick-off in the first week of June.

All 12 clubs will have their bye in either Round 7, Round 8 or Round 9 providing a fair chance for all teams to recharge as they launch their final push for a place in the Grand Final with all 92 matches ad-free, live and on-demand on Stan Sport with Saturday night’s Australian game simulcast free-to-air on the Nine Network.

Rugby Australia Chief Executive Andy Marinos said: "It's fantastic to be able to confirm our draw for the 2022 competition, and I'd like to thank our teams, broadcasters, New Zealand Rugby and SANZAAR for their cooperation and collaboration in getting to this point. 

"Super Rugby Pacific is fresh and exciting as we look to provide fans a new game-day experience every time they go to a match, all at family friendly kick-off times. 

"It will be a Rugby extravaganza at our first-ever Super Round in Round Two in Melbourne, with all six games at AAMI Park over one weekend. 

“We will also host an ANZAC, Heritage, Cultural and Women in Rugby Round, as we acknowledge, recognise and celebrate the communities who make our game so great, and I'm excited to see this play out during match days. 

"The draw also features a focus on rivalry rounds which excites us, so I'd encourage everyone to sign-up for a club membership, tune into Stan and get onboard as we look to write the next chapter in Super Rugby's history," Marinos said.

Secure your 2022 Reds membership via https://bit.ly/3qvilsP.

Queensland Reds 2022 Super Rugby Pacific Draw

Round 1 - Queensland Reds v Chiefs, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane, 6:45pm Saturday 19 February

Round 2 - Crusaders v Queensland Reds, AAMI Park, Melbourne, 4:05pm, Saturday 26 February

Round 3 - Western Force v Queensland Reds, HBF Park, Perth, 9:00pm, Friday 4 March

Round 4 - Queensland Reds v Brumbies, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane, 6:45pm, Saturday 12 March

Round 5 - Queensland Reds v Moana Pasifika, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane, 6:45pm, Friday 18 March

Round 6 - Melbourne Rebels v Queensland Reds, AAMI Park, Melbourne, 6:45pm, Friday 25 March

Round 7 - Queensland Reds v New South Wales Waratahs, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane, 6:45pm, Saturday 2 April

Round 8 - Queensland Reds v Highlanders, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane, 7:45pm, Saturday 9 April

Round 9 - BYE

Round 10 - Hurricanes v Queensland Reds, Sky Stadium, Wellington, 2:35pm, Saturday 23 April

Round 11 - Brumbies v Queensland Reds, GIO Stadium, Canberra, 7:45pm, Friday 29 April

Round 12 - Queensland Reds v Melbourne Rebels, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane, 7:45pm, Friday 6 May

Round 13 - New South Wales Waratahs v Reds, Venue TBC, 7:45pm, Saturday 14 May

Round 14 - Blues v Queensland Reds, Eden Park, Auckland, 5:05pm, Friday 20 May

Round 15 - Queensland Reds v Fijian Drua, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane, 7:45pm, Saturday 28 May

*All times in AEST.

** Times, dates and venues are subject to change.



  • 12 teams: Moana Pasifika, Fijian Drua, Blues, Chiefs Hurricanes, Crusaders, Highlanders, Waratahs, Reds, Force, Brumbies, Rebels
  • 14 regular season matches = 11 round-robin matches + 3 rivalry matches
  • One bye round per team (all byes in Rounds 7,8 & 9)
  • 8 team playoffs format (QFs: 1 v 8, 2 v 7, 3 v 6, 4 v 5) Total Matches: 91

Season Length: 18 weeks = 15-week regular season + three-week playoff series

Opening match: Friday 18 February: Moana Pasifika v Brumbies @ Mt Smart Stadium.

Super Round: Round 2, Friday-Sunday 25-27 February @ AAMI Park Melbourne Park.

Moana Pasifika v Waratahs; Blues v Highlanders; Chiefs v Hurricanes; Crusaders v Reds; Rebels v Brumbies; Fijian Drua v Force.

Themed Rounds:

Women in Rugby Round – Round 3 (4-5 March)

Culture Round – Round 6 (25-26 March)

ANZAC Round – Round 10 (22-23 April)

Heritage Round – Round 12 (6-8 May)

Reds scrumhalfs Spencer Jeans and Kalani Thomas will go head-to-head this Saturday in Round 15 of the StoreLocal HospitalCup
Jeans v Thomas...Halfbacks Duel In Key Clash On Eve Of Finals
Westpac and Queensland Reds make $34,500 donation to Queensland Rescue Helicopter Service
Ballymore National Rugby Training Centre construction update - July 2022
U16 Emerging Reds Cup teams announced