Reds Development XV and President’s XV teams announced for second and final Queensland Rugby Challenger Series fixture

Wed, Oct 12, 2022, 11:58 PM
Reds Media Unit
by Reds Media Unit

The Queensland Reds Development XV and President’s XV sides have been named ahead of this Saturday’s final Queensland Rugby Challenger Series clash at Norths Rugby Club.

 Reds head coach Brad Thorn has made a number of changes to his 23, with Josh Flook to make his return from a lengthy injury lay-off in the centres and 19-year-old Tom Lynagh set to start at flyhalf.

Thorn’s President’s XV counterpart Simon Craig has also made several alterations to his line-up, with UQ standout Kye Oates switching to fullback and the experienced Tayler Adams steering the ship in the number-10 jersey.

The match will be played at Shaw Road's Hugh Courtney Oval, with the Reds outfit looking to make it two-from-two after claiming a 57-24 win in the opening fixture.

Queensland Reds head coach Brad Thorn said: "The first game of the Challenger Series was a huge success.

"The game was fast and entertaining. We saw plenty of talent on display at Sunnybank. It's great to have rep footy back in Queensland.

"The President's XV pushed us hard. They'll go to a new level on Saturday and we're looking forward to the challenge.

"We need to build on our performance this week. It's an exciting time for all players involved with the tour to Japan coming up.”

President’s XV head coach Simon Craig said: “It was great to have our first hit-out as a team over the weekend.

“There were plenty of positives from our performance and we’ll be better for it this Saturday.

“It’s another great opportunity for our players to showcase their skills. In a short time, we’ve built a strong bond and everyone is excited to play together again.”

GPS’ Ratu Vio Batibasaga and Bond University openside Connor Pritchard start in a new-look backrow for the President’s side, seeing vice-captain Pat Morrey shift to lock alongside Zac Shepherd.

Sam Hyne will play his first match of the series on the wing, while the versatile Tom Lucas earns a start at outside centre.

For the Reds, Cooper Whiteside and Taine Roiri move into the XV at wing and blindside flanker respectively, with Mac Grealy making the switch from fullback to inside-centre.

Floyd Aubrey will take his spot at the back, as Dane Zander and George Blake are elevated into the starting frontrow.

The match will be live-streamed via the Reds Rugby Facebook page, with kick-off set for 3:00pm at Norths Rugby Club.
 The Reds U15s and U16s team will also face a touring Fijian team, the Suva Select Covenant Brothers at 12:00pm and 1:30pm respectively.

Queensland Reds Development XV v Queensland Rugby President’s XV | Norths Rugby Club | Saturday 15 October | 3:00pm AEST

Queensland Reds Development XV

  1. Dane Zander | University of Queensland

  2. George Blake | Bond University | Gold Coast
 Zane Nonggorr | Bond University
 | Gold Coast
  4. Wilson Blyth | Bond University | Gold Coast
 Angus Blyth (c) | Bond University
 | Gold Coast
  6. Taine Roiri | Easts

  7. Connor Anderson | Wests
 Sam Wallis | University of Queensland

  9. Kalani Thomas | University of Queensland

  10. Tom Lynagh | University of Queensland
 Joey Fittock | Bond University | Gold Coast
 Mac Grealy | University of Queensland
 | Darling Downs
  13. Josh Flook | Brothers

  14. Cooper Whiteside | Wests

  15. Floyd Aubrey | GPS | Cherbourg
 Matt Faessler | Brothers
 | Darling Downs
  17. Sef Fa’agase | University of Queensland
 | Beaudesert
  18. Phransis Sula-Siaosi | Souths

  19. Keynan Tauakipulu | Wests

  20. Tom Milosevic | Easts

  21. Spencer Jeans | Bond University | Gold Coast
 Lawson Creighton | Brothers
 Conor Chittenden | Norths

 President’s XV 

  1. Levi Samuela | Bond University
 | Gold Coast
  2. Ethan Dobbins | Wests

  3. Latu Talakai | Wests

  4. Zac Shepherd | Easts

  5. Pat Morrey (vc) | University of Queensland
 | Far North Queensland
  6. Connor Pritchard | Bond University
 | Gold Coast
  7. Alex Smit | Easts | Far North Queensland
 Ratu Vio Batibasaga | GPS

  9. Eli Pilz (c) | Easts | Sunshine Coast
  10. Tayler Adams | Brothers
 Ben Navosailagi | Wests

  12. Tom Lucas | Sunnybank
 | Central Queensland
  13. Dan Boardman | Bond University
 | Gold Coast
  14. Sam Hyne | Brothers

  15. Kye Oates | University of Queensland
 | Darling Downs
  16. Liam Usher | Wests

  17. JP Tominiko | Easts

  18. Rhys Sheriff | Bond University
 | Gold Coast
  19. Jake Upfield | Bond University
 | Gold Coast
  20. Jonte Connolly | Brothers | Caboolture
 Louis Werchon | Brothers | Sunshine Coast
 Brad Twidale | University of Queensland | Darling Downs
 Tyler Campbell | Bond University | Gold Coast