Petaia and O'Connor set to combine for first time

· Rugby World Cup
by Reds Media Unit

St.George Queensland Reds fans will get an early taste of what's ahead for next season, with Jordan Petaia and James O'Connor set to combine for the first time in an all-star Wallabies backline. 

Petaia will start on the right wing, while O'Connor has been named at outside centre for Australia's final pool match at the Rugby World Cup against Georgia in Shizuoka on Friday.

Izack Rodda and Samu Kerevi have been recalled into the starting XV, while Taniela Tupou will come on as a finisher from the bench. 
Wallabies coach Michael Cheika has made a total of 10 changes to his starting side from last week, with David Pocock named as captain.

For just the seventh time, Michael Hooper will start from the bench in what is set to be his 99th Test appearance with his workload to be eased ahead of a potential World Cup Quarter-Final in Oita next weekend.

To’omua will wear the number 10 jersey for the first time this year, having finished last season at flyhalf for the Wallabies Spring Tour clashes against Italy and England.

Friday night’s clash will be the first meeting in Test history between Australia and Georgia, with the world number 11 side competing primarily in the Rugby Europe Championship.
The two highest-ranked teams in Pool D will advance to the Quarter Finals with Wales still having two games left to play before the final eight teams are confirmed.

If Australia finish first or second in Pool D, their Quarter-Final will be in Oita next weekend (October 19/20) against either France or England from Pool C.

Wallabies team to play Georgia at Shizuoka Stadium, Shizuoka on Friday 11 October, 7.15pm JST

1. Scott Sio (61 Tests)
2. Tolu Latu (17 Tests)
3. Sekope Kepu (109 Tests)
4. Izack Rodda (23 Tests)
5. Rory Arnold (24 Tests)
6. Jack Dempsey (13 Tests)
7. David Pocock (c) (81 Tests)
8. Isi Naisarani (6 Tests)
9. Nic White (29 Tests)
10. Matt To’omua (50 Tests)
11. Marika Koroibete (26 Tests)
12. Samu Kerevi (vc) (31 Tests)
13. James O’Connor (50 Tests)
14. Jordan Petaia (1 Test)
15. Kurtley Beale (90 Tests)
16. Jordan Uelese (7 Tests)
17. James Slipper (94 Tests)
18. Taniela Tupou (17 Tests)
19. Adam Coleman (37 Tests)
20. Michael Hooper (98 Tests)
21. Will Genia (108 Tests)
22. Christian Lealiifano (24 Tests)
23. Dane Haylett-Petty (36 Tests)

2019 Rugby World Cup
Wallabies 39 v Fiji 21 at Sapporo Dome, Sapporo, Japan, Saturday 21 September at 2.45pm AEST
Wallabies 25 v 29 Wales at Ajinomoto Stadium, Tokyo, Sunday 29 September at 5.45pm AEST
Wallabies 45 v 10 Uruguay at Oita Bank Dome, Oita, Saturday 5 October at 3.15pm AEST
Wallabies v Georgia at Shizuoka Stadium, Shizuoka, Friday 11 October at 9.15pm AEST