Queensland Reds 2021 Super Rugby AU Fixtures Announced

by Reds Media Unit

The Queensland Reds will kick off the new season against traditional-rival New South Wales Waratahs in a blockbuster Round 1 clash at Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane, on Friday 19 February next year.  

Rugby AU released the Super Rugby AU draw today - and confirmed the Reds will play all Australian franchises at home and away during the regular 2021 season. 

Stan is the ‘home of Rugby’ with all games live, ad-free and on demand on Stan. The Reds-Waratahs match will be live and on demand, ad-free, through Stan’s new streaming sport package and also simulcast live free-to-air on the Nine Network. 

The week after the Waratahs clash, Reds fans will enjoy a Friday night match against the Melbourne Rebels at Suncorp Stadium, before a Round 4 Grand Final rematch against the Brumbies in Canberra on Saturday, 12 March.  
The Reds return home in Round 5 to host the Western Force in their first Saturday night match on 20 March. 

The final home game of the regular season in Round 8 will see the Reds take on current Super Rugby AU champions, the Brumbies, at Suncorp Stadium in front of a vocal home crowd, on Saturday 16 April.  

The 2021 Super Rugby AU season draw sees 22 games over 12 action-packed weekends, kicking off on 19 February and concluding with the Final on 8 May. 

The Final will be hosted by the team that finishes top of the ladder after the 10-round regular season, and they will play the winner of a two-versus-three Qualifying Final in the decider.

All 22 matches in the tournament will be live and on demand, ad-free, through Stan’s new streaming sport package which will launch in 2021.

One match each round, including the Finals Series, will also be simulcast live free-to-air on the Nine Network. 

From round two, every Friday night fixture will be live, on demand and ad-free on Stan’s new sport package with the extensive coverage.

Every Saturday night fixture from round two will be live, on demand and ad-free on Stan’s new sport package and simulcast live free-to-air on the Nine Network.

Rugby Australia interim Chief Executive, Rob Clarke said: “What a way to start 2021 and our new partnership with Stan and Nine. Our players are raring to go and are really keen put on a show for fans, with Super Rugby AU to light up living rooms right around the country. 
“Super Rugby AU was terrific in 2020 and will get better next year as this next crop of Australian Rugby stars continue to develop, and they are complimented by some genuinely talented international players who have since arrived on our shores. 

“The 2021 season promises to be a great one for Australians fans with every game in primetime and with the added support of our new partners, Stan and Nine,” Clarke said.

Stan CEO Mike Sneesby said: “This partnership with Rugby Australia will see Stan launch its live streaming capability in 2021, as we take Australian sports television into a new era.

“Through the combined audience reach and engagement across Nine’s television platforms, we are well positioned to bring Rugby Union to more Australians than ever before,” Sneesby said.
Rugby Australia is also working closely with New Zealand Rugby on a trans-Tasman competition and plans to announce details shortly. 

Register your interest in 2021 Queensland Reds memberships and sign on as our 24th player at redsmembership.com.au: https://typeformdeviomedia.typeform.com/to/WsxHJnbA

Stan’s new streaming sport package will launch in 2021. 

If you're interested in becoming a Reds member for the 2021 season, register your interest here: https://bit.ly/RedsMembership2021

2021 Super Rugby Draw* 
Round 1
Queensland Reds v NSW Waratahs, Friday 19 February, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Western Force v Brumbies, Friday 19 February, HBF Park Perth

Round 2
Queensland Reds v Melbourne Rebels, Friday 26 February, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Brumbies v NSW Waratahs, Saturday 27 February, GIO Stadium, Canberra

Round 3
NSW Waratahs v Western Force, Friday 5 March, Venue TBC
Melbourne Rebels v Brumbies, Saturday 6 March, AAMI Park, Melbourne

Round 4
Western Force v Melbourne Rebels, Friday 12 March, HBF Park, Perth
Brumbies v Queensland Reds, Saturday 13 March, GIO Stadium, Canberra

Round 5
Melbourne Rebels v NSW Waratahs, Friday 19 March, AAMI Park, Melbourne
Queensland Reds v Western Force, Saturday 20 March, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane

Round 6
Brumbies v Western Force, Friday 26 March, GIO Stadium, Canberra
NSW Waratahs v Queensland Reds, Saturday 27 March, Venue TBC

Round 7
NSW Waratahs v Brumbies, Friday 2 April, Venue TBC
Melbourne Rebels v Queensland Reds, Saturday 3 April, AAMI Park, Melbourne

Round 8
Melbourne Rebels v Western Force, Friday 9 April, AAMI Park, Melbourne
Queensland Reds v Brumbies, Saturday 10 April, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane

Round 9
Brumbies v Melbourne Rebels, Friday 16 April, GIO Stadium, Canberra
Western Force v NSW Waratahs, Saturday 17 April, HBF Park, Perth

Round 10
Western Force v Queensland Reds, Friday 23 April, HBF Park, Perth
NSW Waratahs v Melbourne Rebels, Saturday 24 April, Venue TBC

Qualifying Final
Saturday 1 May

Saturday 8 May

*All kick off times to be confirmed